#resolutions #intentions #goals

2014 arrived I really didn’t have anything planned for the future me.

This time last year I was going through one of the toughest times of my life.  It really kicked my butt.  I didn’t have a full time job.  We had to put our house on the market for short sale.  We had to ask our family and friends for financial help.  It felt as if the storm would never end.

But now as I look back on 2013 I see all of the obstacles we overcame.  We made it through the storm.  We reached the goals we had set out for ourselves.   I have a job.  Actually, we both have jobs.  We are able to pay down our debt by maintaining our frugal lifestyle.  Celebrating abundance each time it arrives.  Like making a final car payment.  Receiving an unexpected bonus.  Getting a new customer with chloe and isabel.  I will be at my new job six months this month.  I am thankful every day that I have a full time job.  “My intention is to experience a real sense of abundance, peace and freedom with money and to easily manifest income.”  Mike Robbins

For 2014 I am going to focus on how to have a full time job and maintain the balance in my personal life.  I stayed late at work because I wanted to be seen as a hard worker, valuable and dedicated.  I missed workout after workout.  I went from 6 days a week to 2-3.  I started feeling lethargic, then I injured my knee from trying to over compensate for the days I was missing.   Then I was told I can’t workout for 4-6 weeks.  I decided to stay in on the weekends.  We binged watched more television shows than I care to admit.  My body has paid for it.  I was the fittest I had ever been in 2012 and half of 2013.  I was in the maintenance stage.  Maintaining a healthy lifestyle by eating right and working out and then passing it on.  I look in the mirror now and know that I can get back to that person but I struggle with how to balance work and life.

How do I balance the job with the life I want to live?  Trying new things, traveling, learning new recipes, staying fit, getting together with friends.  My work schedule is 9a-6pm.  I get up early to enjoy time with my husband, make our lunches and make myself presentable to the world.  Getting up any earlier is not an option.  If I go to a workout class after work I do not get home until 8:30pm.  Then I have to take a shower, eat dinner and then I have an hour to “hang” and I am off to bed.  If I leave work even 15 minutes late I will miss half of my class.  I have considered joining the gym for these occasions but lately I have just been going home and spending time with my husband.  More binge watching.

I know you don’t have to have your resolutions at the beginning of the year but I usually have a path to start on New Years Day.  Writing this post has given me the path I needed.

So 2014 watch out!  I am going to crack the work/life balance in my life and I am going to start sharing the “how it’s done.”

Today, I will start by getting my water intake back up to half my weight in ounces and making a plan for those nights when I stay late and miss class.

 

Leave a Reply

