what is your greatest accomplishment?

I interview people all day long.  That’s my job as a recruiter but because I am in sales I am trying to gauge their personality more then their experience.  I ask questions like, how do you make a tuna sandwich?  Describe your favorite accessory?  How would you describe your style?  Are you a fan of Pinterest?

I recently went on an interview for a new position and the COO was the one asking the questions.

What is your greatest accomplishment?

I paused, longer than I probably should have.  I was unprepared for this type of question.  I think it is one of those generic interview questions that people ask who have never interviewed anyone, but surely a COO has other questions up their sleeves.  I guess not.

I don’t have kids so I couldn’t pull out the “mom” card.  I haven’t run a marathon or climbed Mount Everest.  So I started thinking about college.  Seems so long ago and many people have accomplished working a full time job and going to school and graduating top of their class.  It really didn’t seem GREAT enough.  Too much time has passed at this point so I just go to what I know.

My answer:

I have overcome many obstacles in the past 2 years.  They are fresh on my mind.  This question makes me think of a quote, “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it is about learning to dancing in the rain.”

My greatest accomplishment on my mind right now,  was surviving the latest storm and becoming a better person because of it.  Without going into great detail and becoming too personal, every person is fighting their own battle and getting through it is an accomplishment.  You learn from it, you become stronger and hopefully you share your experience so that it makes it easier for others going through a similar storm.

I have no idea if she was impressed or put off by my answer, I am sure it came up in conversation when they discussed whether I was a potential candidate for the position.  But in hind sight, I wouldn’t change my answer.  I feel as if it was a good representation of who I am.  A lover of quotes.  A person that has overcome obstacles.  Someone that enjoys life.  And a teacher.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

