going up

I live in a 3 story building.  I don’t know many of my neighbors names, however my husband and I have made up names for when we are referring to them.  Hat. Skeletor.  Parents with loud kids. Parents with screaming baby.  Lady with miniature poodle.  You get the point.  When I push the button to go down/up I do a silent wish that nobody is on the elevator with me.  I hate the small talk.  Weather? Dogs? Whatever?  I just don’t want to be bothered.  If they have a cute dog and I feel like engaging I talk to the dog not the owner.  If the rider is wearing some fabulous shoes or jewelry I am full of compliments.  That doesn’t happen often.  The ride is so short so you can’t really have a real conversation with someone.  My husband and I used to make fun of our next door neighbor because every time she got on the elevator she would start clicking away on her Blackberry.  I have adopted that behavior.  I know, shame on me.

Since I have started my new job I have to be more social and try to get to know people so I can set up more shows.  So today I actually tried my hand.  The rider had a Trader Joes bag.  I started talking about how great it is that you can host a party and have 10 appetizers ready in less than 30 minutes and it looks like you spent a lot of time.  She lived on the same floor as me, however I have never seen her before.  My condo is right off the elevator so we actually stopped and talked in front of my door about food and parties.  Here was my in…I told her about my new gig and she was super interested only if I help out with the food prep. hahahaha!  Now here is where it went wrong.  We introduced ourselves and I cannot remember her name or her unit number.  I was so excited that I made a connection that it went in one ear and out the other.  Now I would say that I had some good success trying my hand at elevator small talk.  Next time I will pull out my business card.  I hope this isn’t a missed opportunity.

 

One thought on “going up

  1. put a sign up with tear off name/number so people can call you to set up a show…maybe she’ll follow up?!

Leave a Reply

