“Nodes” aka Social Network

My New Years Resolution was a pretty difficult one for me.

Accept more invitations.

It seems simple enough, but it has been a true stepping out of the box type of commitment.  I have had a few invitations so far this year that I wasn’t really interested in attending but took the step towards a better me.

Since my recent lay off I really had to take a giant leap.  My sister has a high school friend that lives in the area.  My sister decided to set us up on a “friend date.”  My husband was getting ready to return back to the workforce and I was going to be left to my own devices.   Bethany messaged me and invited me to an evening social event.  She told me 50-60 people would be attending.  My first instinct was “No way!”  But the timing couldn’t have been better.   I was laid off the same day as the invite.  It was the push I needed to start networking.  I don’t really “know” Bethany.  I mean, we went to High School together.  Her brother and I were in the same grade and she and my sister were in the same grade.  I figured if she got along with my sister than there was a good chance she and I would get along.  I had a great time.  I mingled.  I shared stories.  I held my own.

I don’t know why I don’t like social engagements.  I like to talk.  I like to talk a lot.  I like to share what I know about whatever the topic is.  I am very curious about things.  If the topic strikes my fancy I will ask questions until I am satisfied.  I don’t like to be around people that I don’t share a common interest with.

Tonight I venture out again.  I am looking forward to it.

I get to show off my new shirt.

 

2 thoughts on ““Nodes” aka Social Network

  1. Just saw this…funny. Glad it all worked out. Still weird to me that you aren’t more like me in this sense. I like Bethany.

    • just reading the blog for the first time… nice! happy to be able to spend time and share my circle of LA friends with you!!

Leave a Reply

